Max Planck Africa Mobility Grant

The aim is to offer African scientists to get the opportunity for an annual research stay at a Max Planck Institute with access to research facilities, training and networking opportunities as well as scientific exchange.

Qian Baojun Fiber Awards

Qian Baojun Fiber Award is selected once every two years. The Qian Baojun Fiber Award is to reward excellence in the field of the fiber related sciences, and it includes the Distinguished Achievement Award and Young Scholar Award. We are delighted to announce that we are welcoming nominations for the Qian Baojun Fiber Award. Mr. Qian Baojun (1907-1996) is a renowned polymer and fiber scientist and educationist in China.

Important Information

  • Nominations open on July 10th 2019
  • Nominations close on August 30th 2019

Brief Introduction About SKLFPM

Since it was founded in 1992, SKLFPM has successfully passed national assessments in 2003, 2008 and 2013. During these years, it has made significant achievements in many fields such as attracting disciplinary talents, promoting the development of scientific research, constructing the research platform, expanding the academic communication under the guidance of all laboratory leaders and the policy of SKLFPM, “Openness, Mobility, Cooperation, Competition”.

The SKLFPM has 61 settled staffs including 54 senior research staffs, one academician of the Chinese Academy of Engineering, four winners of China National Funds for Distinguished Young Scientists, one winner of the National Science Fund for Excellent Young Scientists, two staffs elected to the Chang Jiang Scholars Program 2 of the Ministry of Education , two staffs elected to Recruitment Program of Global Experts (the Organization Department of the Central Committee of the CPC), one staff elected to Recruitment Program of Global Youth Experts (the Organization Department of the Central Committee of the CPC) and four staffs elected the New Centuary National Hundred, Thousand and Ten Thousand Talents Project.

The present research fields of SKLFPM mainly include: 1) High performance fibers and composite materials; 2) Functional fibers and low-dimensional materials; 3) Environmentally friendly and bio-based fiber materials. In 2013, SKLFPM undertook 143 national and provincial scientific research projects, including 5 items of “973” programs and seven items of “863” programs, 1 item of Military Pre-Research Project, 5 items of National Sci-Tech Supporting Plan, 48 items of National Natural Science Foundation of China (1 item of National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scientists, 2 key projects of the State Key Program of National Natural Science Foundation of China); 152 R&D projects cooperated with industry circle, in which 14 patents were transferred to related companies.

Since 2008, the laboratory had won 6 items of the second prize of National Award of Scientific and Technology Progress, 39 items of the prize of Provincial/Ministerial Award of Science and Technology Progress and the prize of Provincial/Ministerial Award of Invention, in which 5 items were the first class prizes of provincial and municipal awards of science and technology progress, 6 items were the first class ministerial award. SKLFPM had published 1796 academic papers and 515 authorized invention patents.

The Application Object of the Open Project

The applicant of the open research fund should at least have an associate professor position or Ph. D degree and get some teaching, research or engineering experiences in domestic or foreign well-known universities, research institutions and companies. In order to improve the growth of young scientists, SKLFPM preferentially supports applicants under 45 years old. The duration of research project normally ranges from six months to two years.